• “I don’t ride a bike to add days to my life. I ride a bike to add life to my days” – Unknown
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

MTB How to improve my braking?

Discussion in 'Cycling Department Forum' started by Petra, Jul 8, 2016.

1. Petra

Petra Well-Known Member

I'll start off by saying I'm a noob as regards to biking techniques. I'm a beginner, so I must learn everything by trial and error :) The things I find difficult are braking and turning. For example, at first I didn't even know which lever controlled which brake, I just squeezed both brakes at the same time.

Some time ago I had to stop suddenly (a car hit a scooter just in front of me) and I squeezed both brakes hard, my bike blocked and I almost flew over the handlebar. So that didn't go well ;) What can I do next time it comes to this? What is the best braking technique if you have to come to a full 'panic' stop?

In general, I tend to 'overreact' my braking. I do that with my regular bike too. It probably is better when I brake a bit lighter instead of slamming the brakes constantly. But how? Tips are more than welcome!

2. Frederic Schornstein

Frederic Schornstein Active Member

What I did is when I first got back on the bike and knewing I would need to go through traffic I went to a basically not used parking space which ended with some grass. I accelerated and did emergency brakes and always shortend the distance to the grass. So in case I can't stop it, it would not really hurt, but there was some kind of barrier I had to avoid and react fast and brake hard. I can only recommend just doing that for 20 times or even more as it really helped me in judging how fast I can stop and having no fear going over the bars.